Gate Card Review: USDT Crypto Debit Card, Fees per Purchase, No Credit Check, Apple Pay
The Gate Card is the crypto debit card from Gate (formerly Gate.io). It takes a small fee whenever crypto turns into dollars, and more when the shop bills in another currency. That is often still below a US bank card’s fee abroad.
There is no credit check, no proof of income and no bank account. You do pass Gate’s identity check once, on the exchange.
Our editor lives in Korea and uses two Gate Cards. In October 2026 we read Gate’s help pages, fee schedules and announcements side by side and worked out what one purchase really costs. This review puts those numbers next to what happened on our own cards.
In this review (14)
What does one Gate Card purchase cost, and which card will you get?Crypto debit card, USDT card, crypto prepaid card: one product, many namesWhich Gate Card types are there? Seven cards in four groupsWhere does the money come from when you pay with a Gate Card?How do Gate Card fees compare with a bank card’s foreign transaction fee?Can you get a crypto card with no credit check and no bank account?How to apply for a Gate Card, step by stepWhere does the Gate Card referral code go, and can you add it later?Does a crypto card work with Apple Pay and Google Pay? What worked on our two cardsGate Card limits, the physical card and ATM withdrawalsHow much crypto card cashback does a Gate Card pay?How to freeze a Gate Card, and how refunds and chargebacks workGate Card vs Binance Card, Bybit Card and Bitget Wallet CardMy take on the Gate Card after using two of them
What does one Gate Card purchase cost, and which card will you get?
One Gate Card purchase costs about 0.9% when the shop bills in US dollars. In any other currency it is 2.6% on Essential or 2.4% on AI Elite. A typical US bank card charges 3% on purchases abroad. Our numbers come from Gate’s fee schedule, checked on October 25, 2026.
The spread comes from Gate’s two card families. A prepaid card holds a US dollar balance that you fill from your USDT before you spend. Essential, AI Elite and Gold work this way. Classic, Platinum, Standard and Signature are instant-spend cards that convert crypto at the moment you pay.
So the family decides where the fee is charged. The currency on the bill decides how big it gets.
If you have no Gate account yet, enter the code below at sign-up, then type the same code into the Invitation code field of the card application.
Gate.io
Affiliate disclosure: some links are partner links. We may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. This is not investment advice.
Our editor lives in Korea and holds two of the seven cards, Essential and AI Elite. His app offered about four card types, not all seven. The cards and terms you see on the application screen depend on where you live, so your own app is the reference.
Crypto debit card, USDT card, crypto prepaid card: one product, many names
A crypto debit card spends crypto you already hold instead of money from a bank. A USDT card, a stablecoin card and a crypto prepaid card describe the same kind of product. The Gate Card is one of them, and it never lends you anything.
The shop sees a normal Visa or Mastercard payment in its own currency. The conversion from crypto happens on the exchange side.
Gate.io dropped the “.io” in May 2025 and moved to gate.com, so older guides that talk about the Gate.io card or the Gate.io Visa card mean this same product.
| What people search for | What it usually means | Where the Gate Card fits |
|---|---|---|
| crypto debit card | A card that spends crypto you already own | All seven Gate Cards |
| USDT card, usdt debit card | A card funded from USDT, the dollar stablecoin | Prepaid cards are topped up from USDT |
| crypto prepaid card | You load a balance first, then spend it | Essential, AI Elite and Gold |
| stablecoin card | A card that spends USDT or USDC | Gate Pay holds both; the card balance itself is in US dollars |
| virtual crypto card | Card number, expiry and CVV in an app, no plastic | Issued after a review that usually takes minutes |
| gate.io card, gate crypto card | The card from Gate, the exchange long known as Gate.io | The card this review covers |
| crypto Visa card, USDT Visa card, crypto Mastercard | The network the card runs on | Gate lists Visa for instant-spend cards; our Essential is Mastercard |
| bitcoin debit card | A card that can spend BTC | Instant-spend cards can draw BTC, according to Gate’s card FAQ |
| crypto credit card | A card with a credit line you repay later | Not this. A Gate Card has no credit line |
A virtual card is a card number, expiry date and CVV shown in the app, with no plastic. You can use it online and in a phone wallet. A physical card is the plastic version with a chip, and it ships later.
Some Gate help pages call it a “credit card”. Gate Learn states that the card has no credit line and no billing cycle. In practice it behaves as a debit or prepaid card.
Which Gate Card types are there? Seven cards in four groups
Gate’s help center lists seven Gate Cards in four groups. Classic and Platinum, Standard, and Signature are instant-spend Visa cards. Essential, AI Elite and Gold form the prepaid group that you top up first. Gate does not state a network for that prepaid group.
View full size ↗The table below follows Gate’s help pages as checked on October 25, 2026. The network for the prepaid group comes from our own two cards.
| Card | How it pays | Network | FX fee | Phone wallets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Essential | Prepaid top-up | Mastercard on our card (not stated by Gate) | 1.70% | Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay worked for us |
| AI Elite | Prepaid top-up | Visa on our card (not stated by Gate) | 1.50% | Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay worked for us |
| Gold | Prepaid top-up | Not stated by Gate | 1.50% | Not stated |
| Classic · Platinum | Instant spend | Visa | 0.40% | Google Pay only (Gate FAQ) |
| Standard | Instant spend | Visa | 1.00% | Apple Pay, Google Pay |
| Signature | Instant spend | Visa | 1.00% | Apple Pay, Google Pay |
The card network is Visa or Mastercard, the system that carries a payment between the shop and the card issuer. We read the first digit of our own two card numbers. Essential starts with a 5, which is Mastercard. AI Elite starts with a 4, which is Visa. Same group, two different networks, so check the logo on your own card screen.
Essential and AI Elite differ in one official fee only, the FX fee of 1.70% against 1.50%. Gold shares the AI Elite FX fee and has a higher single-payment limit.
Where does the money come from when you pay with a Gate Card?
With a prepaid Gate Card, money moves twice. First you top up USDT into the card’s US dollar balance, then the shop charges that balance. With an instant-spend card, crypto from the account you picked is converted at the moment you pay.
View full size ↗A top-up moves USDT from your Gate account onto a prepaid card at the live rate. The top-up fee is 0.90%, and the Top Up screen shows it before you confirm. The first top-up of 10 USDT carries no top-up fee. If the application fails, that 10 USDT goes back to your Gate account.
After that the card spends dollars. If the shop bills in US dollars, nothing more is taken. If it bills in won, Taiwan dollars, rubles or dong, Gate adds an FX fee. That is the foreign transaction fee on any payment not billed in USD. When a shop bills you in a currency other than US dollars, the FX fee is added on top of the top-up fee.
Instant-spend cards skip the balance. You pick a paying account such as Gate Pay, Spot or Simple Earn. Each payment of $2 or more is converted with a 0.90% fee, and smaller payments cost a flat $0.05.
Gate Pay is the payment account inside the Gate app. It holds USDT or USDC, and moving funds from Spot to Gate Pay is free. We compared the two coins in USDT vs USDC.
Money on the card and in Gate Pay is held by the exchange, so you do not hold the keys the way you would in your own wallet. Our guide to crypto wallets explains what self-custody changes.
Unspent card balance can go back to Spot as USDT for another 0.9%, with a minimum of 0.01 USD. A balance that turns negative has to be refilled, and Gate warns that leaving it negative can get the card blocked for good.
How do Gate Card fees compare with a bank card’s foreign transaction fee?
By our math from Gate’s fee schedules, a Gate Card purchase costs about 0.9% when billed in US dollars. In another currency it is 2.6% on Essential or 2.4% on AI Elite. A typical US bank card charges 3% on purchases abroad or from foreign shops, and nothing at home.
Standard and Signature come to 1.9%, and Classic or Platinum to 1.3%. The arithmetic is short. Take one plus the FX fee, multiply by one plus the 0.90% top-up or conversion fee, and subtract one. We ran it on Gate’s official fee schedules, checked on October 25, 2026. The prepaid schedule is dated July 20, 2026.
| Card | FX fee | One purchase billed in USD | One purchase billed in another currency | $100 billed in another currency takes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Essential | 1.70% | 0.9% | 2.6% | about 102.62 USDT |
| AI Elite | 1.50% | 0.9% | 2.4% | about 102.41 USDT |
| Gold | 1.50% | 0.9% | 2.4% | about 102.41 USDT |
| Classic · Platinum | 0.40% | 0.9% | 1.3% | about 101.30 USDT |
| Standard | 1.00% | 0.9% | 1.9% | about 101.91 USDT |
| Signature | 1.00% | 0.9% | 1.9% | about 101.91 USDT |
| For comparison: a typical US bank card | 3% foreign transaction fee (0% on some cards) | 0% at a US shop, 3% abroad or at a foreign shop | 3% | about 103.00 USD |
View full size ↗Put in your own amount and card below. The calculator uses the same official fees.
Two costs are missing from every number above. Visa and Mastercard apply their own exchange rate, and Gate does not publish that margin. Some foreign shops also offer to charge you in your home currency. That offer is DCC, dynamic currency conversion, and its rate is not on Gate’s fee pages either.
Bankrate puts foreign transaction fees on US cards at 1% to 3%, most often 3%. At Bank of America, Chase, Citi and Wells Fargo that is 2% for the bank plus 1% for the network. The fee also hits foreign online shops you buy from at home. Capital One and Discover charge none.
If you pay abroad or pay a foreign company in dollars, Gate’s 0.9% is below a 3% card. In another currency, Gate’s 2.4% to 2.6% is still under 3%. A card with no foreign transaction fee charges nothing there. At a US shop in dollars, your bank card costs nothing too.
On $100 billed in euros, Essential takes about 102.62 USDT and a 3% card about 103.00 dollars. So the Gate Card makes the most sense for payments abroad and for dollar-billed subscriptions or shopping from companies outside the US. If much of your spending looks like that, the steps to apply and the referral code are two sections down.
The prepaid cards have no monthly fee and no inactivity fee. Virtual card issuance is free for a limited time. An authorization reversal costs 1 USD and a refund costs 2%.
The gap between 2.6% and 2.4% comes entirely from the FX fee. Trading fees are a separate cost, covered in our crypto exchange fees guide.
Can you get a crypto card with no credit check and no bank account?
Yes. A Gate Card involves no credit check, no proof of income and no bank account, because it spends crypto you already hold. You still pass Gate’s identity check once on the exchange. Our editor’s account was already verified, so the card application asked for no extra verification.
A Gate Card has no credit line, so you can only spend what you have put into your Gate account. A low credit score does not come into it.
| Question | Bank credit card | Bank debit card | Gate Card |
|---|---|---|---|
| Where the money comes from | The bank’s money, repaid later | Your bank account | Crypto you hold on Gate |
| Credit check | Yes, before a limit is set | Not for the card | No |
| Bank account needed | Usually | Yes | No |
| Identity check | Yes | Yes, when the account is opened | Yes, once on the Gate exchange |
| Spend more than you hold | Up to the credit limit | Only with an overdraft | No |
| Extra paperwork at the card step | Application form | Comes with the account | Some cards ask for proof of address |
Gate’s card page asks for Level 2 identity verification on the exchange. Some card types also want proof of address issued within the last three months, and Gate does not say which. You must be at least 18 under Gate’s user agreement.
Each application goes through Gate’s internal risk review, which can approve or reject it. Gate publishes no list of rejection reasons, so nobody can promise you a card.
Without a bank account, the money has to start as crypto. Our guide on how to buy USDT walks through it, and that purchase has its own cost before any card fee. USDT on another exchange can be sent to Gate. We measured those crypto transfer fees between exchanges, and USDT ERC20 vs TRC20 covers the network choice.
How to apply for a Gate Card, step by step
To get a Gate Card, you sign up on Gate and verify your identity. Then you open Gate Card in the app, tap Apply Now, pick a card and submit the form. A virtual card is usually reviewed in 3 to 5 minutes and works as soon as it is approved.
View full size ↗
View full size ↗- Sign up on Gate. Use gate.com or the Gate app and enter the referral code on the sign-up screen. Our Gate sign-up guide shows every screen.
- Verify your identity once. This is the ID and face check on the exchange, plus email and phone.
- Gate Card, then Apply Now. Choose a card.
- Fill in the application. The Referral code or Invitation code field is in this form. It only takes a code before you submit.
- Use the virtual card. Add it to Apple Pay or Google Pay. On a prepaid card, top up first.
Gate’s July 21, 2026 guide gives the same steps on the website and in the app.
A physical card ships separately. Gate’s general FAQ says about 7 to 45 days, and the card-specific FAQs say 15 to 45 days.
Where does the Gate Card referral code go, and can you add it later?
The Gate exchange referral code and the Gate Card invitation code use the same string. Ours is VFIWUQTAUQ for both. They belong to two separate programs that Gate tracks independently, and you can receive the rewards from both at once.
A referral code is a short code that links your account to the person who invited you. At Gate sign-up it goes into the referral field. On the card application it goes into the Referral code or Invitation code field. Open the invite link below and the field fills itself.
The card field only accepts a code while the application is open. Once you submit, Gate does not let you add or change it.
Already signed up on Gate with someone else’s code? You can still enter our code on the card application. Gate’s own help page gives that example, with a user who joins with B’s code and applies for the card with C’s code.
In our editor’s app, the Invite Now screen of the card program showed VFIWUQTAUQ, the same as the exchange referral code. The rewards below come from Gate’s announcement and help pages, checked on October 25, 2026.
| Who | Reward | Condition | How it is paid |
|---|---|---|---|
| You, applying with an invitation code | 2 USDT | Get the card, then spend at least 100 USDT within 30 days | USDT cash voucher, no expiry, covers up to 30% of one top-up or payment |
| The person who invited you | 5 USDT | The same 100 USDT in 30 days | Cash voucher for regular users |
| The person who invited you | 0.1% of your card spending for 12 months (0.2% from 20 invites) | Payments of 2 USDT or more; ATM, transfers, prepaid top-ups, gambling and promo-period payments excluded | Paid out about twice a month |
| Exchange referral (separate program) | 10% off trading fees for life | Code entered at Gate sign-up | Applied to your trading fees |
Card referral rewards arrive as a voucher you cannot withdraw, and it only covers part of each payment. A voucher is used up over several payments. On Essential, AI Elite and Gold it is deducted when you top up, and on the instant-spend cards when you pay.
Gate gives no end date for the program and says the rules can change. If you are about to apply, paste the code below into the Invitation code field before you submit, since that is the only moment the field takes it.
VFIWUQTAUQ
Open the Gate Card invite link This is the official share link the Gate app creates (app.bxjddjt.com). It is our referral link.
View full size ↗Gate.io
Affiliate disclosure: some links are partner links. We may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. This is not investment advice.
Does a crypto card work with Apple Pay and Google Pay? What worked on our two cards
Yes, the Gate Card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. Gate says virtual and physical cards can both be added, with a note to check Apple Pay support per card type. On our editor’s Essential and AI Elite, Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay all worked.
Samsung Pay does not appear in Gate’s documents, so that part is only our own result. Classic and Platinum support Google Pay only, according to Gate’s FAQ. Adding a card asks for a one-time code by SMS or email, and a small test authorization is cancelled soon after.
In Vietnam our editor paid a shop by scanning its QR code. That payment did not go through the card at all. It was Gate Pay’s scan-to-pay feature reading VietQR, Vietnam’s national QR standard, and the money came out of the Gate Pay balance.
In the Gate app you tap Pay, check your balance and tap Scan. Then you check the amount and the merchant and tap Confirm Payment. Gate names VietQR in Vietnam and PIX in Brazil.
Gate does not publish fees or limits for QR payments, or say whether card cashback applies to them. A QR payment is not a card payment, so count the two apart.
Gate Card limits, the physical card and ATM withdrawals
Essential and AI Elite allow up to $25,000 per payment and $150,000 per day, as listed on October 25, 2026. Instant-spend cards have their own limits. ATM fees appear only for Classic, Standard and Signature.
| Card | Per payment | Per day | Per month | ATM |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Essential, AI Elite | $25,000 | $150,000 | $1,000,000 (also $1,000,000 a year) | Not stated |
| Gold | $80,000 | “-” on the fee page | “-” on the fee page | Not stated |
| Classic · Platinum | See Gate’s page | $10,000 to $500,000 (tiers T0 to T4) | See Gate’s page | Classic: $5,000 per withdrawal and per day, $15,000 a month, 2% fee |
| Standard | See Gate’s page | $50,000 | $990,000 | $5,000 per withdrawal and per day, $15,000 a month, 2% fee |
| Signature | See Gate’s page | See Gate’s page | Monthly limit only | 1 USD + 0.65% fee |
To raise a limit, Gate asks you to email support@gate.com, and the request goes through a review.
The physical card has a chip and works contactless. Gate’s card page says ATM withdrawals are for physical cards. On Classic and Standard an ATM withdrawal costs 2%, and Signature charges 1 USD plus 0.65%.
Gate lists no ATM fee or ATM limit for Essential, AI Elite or Gold. We have not tried an ATM with our cards.
How much crypto card cashback does a Gate Card pay?
Gate Card cashback starts at 1% for most users, capped at 500 points (5 USDT) a month, as of October 25, 2026. Higher tiers go up to 8%. Your tier follows your Gate VIP level or your monthly card spending, whichever is better.
The top cashback rate comes with tier conditions, and the starting tier pays 1% with a monthly cap. At 1%, the 5 USDT cap is reached at $500 of spending.
| Tier | You qualify with (VIP level or monthly card spending) | Cashback | Monthly cap |
|---|---|---|---|
| T0 | VIP 0 to 4, no spending needed | 1% | 500 points (5 USDT) |
| T1 | VIP 5 to 7, or $500 a month | 1% | 5,000 points (50 USDT) |
| T2 | VIP 8, or $3,000 a month | 2% | 10,000 points (100 USDT) |
| T3 | VIP 9, or $6,000 a month | 3% | 15,000 points (150 USDT) |
| T4 | VIP 10 to 12, or $10,000 a month | 5% | 25,000 points (250 USDT) |
| T5 | VIP 13 to 14, or $15,000 a month | 8% | 40,000 points (400 USDT) |
Cashback arrives as cashback points. 100 points equal 1 USDT, they do not expire, and they usually land two to three days after a payment. Gate’s latest announcement lists more than 13 assets to redeem into, USDT, GT, BTC and ETH among them.
A new tier starts on the first day of the next month. Transfers, top-ups, refunds and fees earn nothing.
Gate’s pages disagree on the headline. The card page summary says up to 5%, and the help pages say up to 8%. Gate also does not say whether the prepaid group earns the same cashback, so look at the rewards screen for your own card.
How to freeze a Gate Card, and how refunds and chargebacks work
Tapping Freeze Card in the Gate app stops a Gate Card at once, and unfreezing needs a security check. The card number and CVV only appear after 2FA or an SMS or email code.
To freeze a card means to block new payments without cancelling it. If a card is lost, freeze it first, then request a replacement. Choosing lost or stolen in that form stops the old card immediately.
Online payments use 3-D Secure, an extra check where a one-time code confirms the payment. Gate sends that code by email, or to your phone if the email does not arrive. Our guide on losing 2FA shows what gets locked if your Gate login goes wrong.
In shops the physical card uses a PIN. After you change the PIN, do one balance inquiry at an ATM so the chip picks up the new one.
A payment cancelled before it settles goes back to the account it came from. A refund after settlement goes to the paying account selected at that moment. Hotels and car rentals hold more than the bill and release the rest later.
A chargeback is a dispute where the card issuer pulls money back from a shop. Gate asks you to try the merchant first, then file with Gate. It can take up to about three months, and a processing fee of 25 to 35 USD applies whatever the result.
Gate Card vs Binance Card, Bybit Card and Bitget Wallet Card
The Gate Card, Binance Card, Bybit Card and Bitget Wallet Card all let you spend crypto through Visa or Mastercard. They differ in where your money sits before you pay. Gate’s prepaid cards use a dollar balance, Binance and Bybit take the money as you pay, and Bitget Wallet Card is topped up from a self-custody wallet.
The table repeats each official page as checked on October 25, 2026. Our editor has used only the two Gate Cards.
| Card | Where the money sits before you pay | Fees on the official page | Rewards on the official page |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gate Card, prepaid | A US dollar card balance you top up from USDT | Top-up 0.90%, FX 1.50% to 1.70% | Tier points from 1%; Gate does not say if this group earns them |
| Gate Card, instant spend | Gate Pay, Spot or Simple Earn, converted when you pay | Conversion 0.90%, FX 0.40% to 1.00% | Tier points from 1%, capped each month |
| Binance Card | Your crypto (USDT, BNB, BTC and others), converted at the moment you pay | Conversion 0.9%, FX 2.0% | Up to 3% |
| Bybit Card | Funding account or Flexible Easy Earn, no card balance | Network and card type vary by region | See Bybit’s page |
| Bitget Wallet Card | Topped up from a self-custody wallet | See Bitget Wallet’s page | 2% base assetback |
Binance Card converts USDT, BNB, BTC and other coins as you pay. Our Binance referral code guide covers sign-up.
Bybit Card takes money from your Funding account or Flexible Easy Earn. Its FAQ says the network and card type vary by region. Sign-up steps are on our Bybit referral code page.
Bitget Wallet Card differs in custody, since you top it up from a wallet where you hold the keys. We have not tested RedotPay, so it stays out.
If you settle on the Gate Card, the code in the Gate box below works at sign-up and again on the card application.
Gate.io
Binance
Affiliate disclosure: some links are partner links. We may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. This is not investment advice.
My take on the Gate Card after using two of them
My take on the Gate Card is mostly about the bill currency. On an account that was already verified, the application was the easy part. The real cost depends on which family you pick and how often you pay in currencies other than US dollars.
Our own two cards taught us a few things. Essential and AI Elite sit in the same group and still run on different networks, Mastercard and Visa. Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay worked, and so did payments abroad. The QR payment in Vietnam was Gate Pay, not the card.
If this is your first crypto card, enter the code at sign-up and finish verification. Compare the FX fee before you pick a card. Make a small first top-up, since the first 10 USDT has no top-up fee. Then check the billing currency each time you pay.
Some things still bother us. Gate’s own documents disagree on the maximum cashback, the payout timing and the chargeback fee. The prepaid group has no network listed anywhere. The card network’s exchange rate margin is not published. And every dollar on the card is held by the exchange.
There is a fair case against it as well. If you already have a card with a low foreign transaction fee, the gain is small. If most of your bills come in your local currency, you pay the higher rate every time. If you hold no crypto, buying USDT adds its own cost before the first payment.
You should also know how this site earns money. It uses referral links and the referral code VFIWUQTAUQ. If you sign up or apply for a card with our code, we earn a commission on the exchange side and a card referral reward.
Gate Card questions people ask
- Gate Card page and FAQ · checked 2026-10-25
- Gate Learn: What is Gate Card · checked 2026-10-25
- Essential, AI Elite and Gold fees and limits (fee schedule July 20, 2026) · checked 2026-10-25
- Classic and Platinum fees and limits · checked 2026-10-25
- Standard fees and limits · checked 2026-10-25
- How to apply for Essential, AI Elite and Gold · checked 2026-10-25
- Gate Card general FAQ · checked 2026-10-25
- Card balance withdrawal announcement · checked 2026-10-25
- Gate Card referral program announcement · checked 2026-10-25
- Gate Card referral program FAQ · checked 2026-10-25
- Gate Card cashback FAQ · checked 2026-10-25
- Add your Gate Card to Google Pay and Apple Pay · checked 2026-10-25
- Gate Pay QR code payment guide · checked 2026-10-25
- Bankrate: A guide to foreign transaction fees (updated April 15, 2025) · checked 2026-10-25
- Capital One: What are foreign transaction fees? (March 12, 2026) · checked 2026-10-25
- Binance Card · checked 2026-10-25
- Bybit Card FAQ · checked 2026-10-25
- Bitget Wallet Card · checked 2026-10-25
This review explains how Gate Cards work and what happened on our own two cards. It is not financial advice.






